Time Out: GV Art gallery.

Mutation of the Visible - Anais Tondeur 2013

Mutation of the Visible – Anais Tondeur 2013

I soon realised on my Time Out experience that it was inevitable that I’d run into another gallery. The word ‘Art’ is slightly diverting my thoughts to the fact that I am in fact writing a Design blog and I’m still questioning what Graphic Design means? Is that OK? I was to be reassured in about 20 minutes when I came across two art galleries next door to each other, within a few metres away from Atlas gallery.

IMG_1274

Huia Transcriptions by Sally Ann McIntyre

IMG_1278

Huia Transcriptions by Sally Ann McIntyre

IMG_1279

I saw the concept behind a musical piece which took refuge on a plinth, using an exposed wind-up music box hole punched onto small pieces of lined paper – each musical note that played would cut a small circular shape in the paper and create a unique pattern.

IMG_1283

Weeds 111 by Laura Culham – installation of paper sculptures, 2013

IMG_1284

Weeds 111 by Laura Culham – installation of paper sculptures, 2013

AV Gallery was the first gallery I walked into – Nature Reserves being the group exhibition being held there until mid-September exploring the human understanding of the natural environment. I’m always searching for elements of graphic design in what I experience so this was a chance to see the concept behind fine art, dig further and make it communicate. From the minimalist appearance of the gallery and well curated artworks, it was easier to take note of design elements – such as the use of materials and techniques that the artists have used. This included the white paper, box frames and typographic features in the archival ephemera on show.

The collection of Weeds reminded me of paper engineering seen in the meticulous work of Peter Callesen and the precision behind making small, delicate models successful. I wasn’t so impressed with Laura Culham’s paper collection as there is limited concept, no physical movement or play of imagery to visual stimulate me and communicate. They are truly beautiful as they are, but unfortunately lack Peter Callesen wit!

Leave a Reply

